Top 30 Under 30

Hey Everyone!  Someone!  Anyone out there!

It’s great to be back on the blogosphere and I hope I’m now here to stay.  Over the last few months, I have been inspired to blog by my good friend Mrs Babes whose energy and consistency is amazing.  I got the idea for this post from her, and I hope that as she celebrates her success on 7th September 2012, I will be able to celebrate mine on 1st November 2012.

The accomplishment of each of these targets is going not going to be easy.  In addition to the fact that I cannot run to save my life, I have more than six degrees of separation between at least two people on this list.  That said, a little (or a lot of) ambition never killed anyone.  I don’t think I’m going to be the first.

Here goes! (The list is not in any particular order)

  1. Have a conversation with Hon. Raphael Tuju
  2. Be a pro-bono news anchor on KTN, NTV or Citizen (9 o’clock news)
  3. Run the Maasai Mara Marathon
  4. Learn how to make chapatis
  5. Speak at a school speech and prize giving day
  6. Become a professional MC
  7. Have at least 100 posts on this blog
  8. Spend less than 50% of my income for at least three months
  9. Find 1 girl to mentor
  10. Let my family know that I love them
  11. Get my niece’s ears pierced
  12. Spend a weekend at my paternal grandmother’s house
  13. Spend a weekend at my maternal grandmother’s house
  14. Travel with my family
  15. Celebrate my parents’ 30th wedding anniversary
  16. Have a conversation with Mr. Mugo Kibati
  17. Be a lecturer at a local university
  18. Start (re)taking the CFA examinations or enrol for a PhD
  19. Write my will
  20. Learn how to bake
  21. Read the Bible from cover to cover (without skipping Numbers)
  22. Get baptised
  23. Find a Bible study
  24. Become a regular contributor to a published magazine
  25. Appear as a guest on a TV talk show
  26. Knit one item using a pattern
  27. Read one book a month
  28. Say “I love you because …” everyday
  29. Make five people laugh everyday
  30. Pay one compliment everyday

About Wa Makeri

Living Life. Loving It.

27 responses to “Top 30 Under 30

  1. So a couple of things:
    1. You can knit using a pattern? COOL!
    2. If you find 2 girls, Im willing to mentor 1
    3. Why Mugo Kibati?
    4. Good luck with 28, 29 and 30 :-). Remember, its EVERYDAY!

    • I can knit, but I’ve never knitted using a pattern. I figured it’s never that serious, so I’m going to give it a shot. 🙂
      Will look out for 2 girls. Thanks for the offer!
      I am inspired by Vision 2030 and would love to speak with him about how I can contribute to making it a reality by influencing the people in my circle of influence
      Been trying 28, 29 and 30, so I’m not starting from scratch, but I’m hoping to have it come easier to me by the time I’m 30.

  2. Call me after you’ve mastered No. 4.

  3. 🙂 Will definitely do. Chapati and tea.

  4. Peeks of Heaven

    Good stuff. No. 19 should not take you more than 1 hour. 🙂

  5. Teehee! Thanks for the heads up. I will definitely find one hour to allocate to that, between now and next year.

  6. Pingback: Life’s Journey « wamakeri

  7. gerbera

    You are my role model…. I need to get serious.

  8. Pingback: Weekend Recap – Anniversary « wamakeri

  9. Pingback: One Picture « wamakeri

  10. Pingback: How Many Days? « Doing Life By His Side

  11. Bee

    Hi Wa Makeri,

    Landed here thanks to Mrs Babes’ blog…..for sure you’ve achieved no. 29 and 30 with your comments after my comments on her blog :-)Thank you for replying on her behalf sometimes…..

    I know someone who can help you with no.4 and no.20 if you’re interested…she’s a pastry chef so you can be sure your cookery will be first class!

    Your to do list has such sweet,noble and serious goals…kudos!Actually,what have you achieved thus far??

    • Wow, Bee!

      You are a very resourceful lady! Thanks for the heads up. I promise to put up a status review on Monday.

      Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love your comments on Ciiku’s.

  12. Pingback: Weekend Recap « wamakeri

  13. Pingback: Accountability « wamakeri

  14. Pingback: It’s a Century! « wamakeri

  15. Pingback: wamakeri

  16. Ciiku

    How is this going by the way? 🙂

  17. Pingback: Weekend ReCap « wamakeri

  18. Pingback: Reading « wamakeri

  19. Nice!!! Seeing as I am already past your and Ciiku’s goal deadline (Thartey), maybe I should do a ‘Things to do by my next birthday’ …. no numbers allowed….

  20. Okay, so which items are outstanding? Any that you can accomplish in a week?

Leave a comment